Melancholy Ponderings

I have been musing over my life during the last couple of hours. Strange situations have found my way this year. I find myself in a sort of limbo, in the transition I had discussed once before here. It is in a way unnerving because I or anyone else cannot say when the transformation will resolve or what will come of it, whether something beneficial or possibly detrimental, perhaps both. Suffice it to say that the realm of uncertainty and obscurity is very much real for me, and is probably where I will float for a while. One personal relationship, the most important one in my life at that, crumbles apart more with each passing day. Others are just budding, but whether they will flower and give fruit is not transpicuous. It is this limbo state that occasionally obliges me to think about where I am and will eventually be.

Lately I have been reading more about happiness and attainment, mostly as it applies to Eastern philosophy. The concept of karma has been intriguing me for some time. In karma, you as an individual are in charge of your own fate, according to the actions that you consciously choose. Thus there is the right versus wrong conflict, being cognizant of what life decisions may perhaps be the wise ones which will ultimately lead to spiritual wellness and those that will cause harm not only upon your own fortune but to those in close contact you. There is a degree of luck I believe that plays a hand in karma. If you are prone to have good luck, then you are more apt to have positive outcomes with karma. Those that cannot find the right path towards their destinies I would say are at a loss spiritually. But what if you are generally fortunate but encounter a situation where karma is unfavorable as it applies to your life in a certain circumstance? Can karma have both positive and negative traits for an individual, pulling at opposite ends of the same rope? And what if the concept of karma is not understood by an individual; in other words if a person is not familiarized with the meaning of karma, does that ignorance bear weight on the positive or negative outcome of his or her karma?

I am also interested in Zen, having read the autobiography of Zen Master Hakuin. His accounts about his own life and especially his attaining of enlightenment were fascinating. The discipline the students of Zen possess is astounding. They often sit in one position, sometimes for days at a time, in order to find the plane of consciousness they seek to reach. It is not uncommon for them to eat only a small bowl of rice a day or abstain from sustenance for an extended period of time. And they ceaselessly wander from one temple to the next in search of the ideal place for meditation. Their persistence to be enlightened, to see what others cannot even imagine, keeps them moving forward, despite all odds that attempt to dissuade them. Materialism means nothing to them. The success they achieve is spiritual, and their goal is to retain faith.

Writing too much about such topics is tedious on blogs in my opinion, but they should be touched upon. I believe in the concept of karma as it holds total logical significance to me; it is a practical philosophy that can be applied to any individual or perhaps to all animals, assuming they are aware of the consequences of their actions. The difficult task regarding karma is discerning the decisions that are significant in life from the ones that matter the least. And the person who dwells in the life transition is subservient to karma at the limit of persistence.

1 Comment

Filed under All Tings, Prose

One response to “Melancholy Ponderings

  1. Lil G

    I’m in a similar emotional state. Great to read your thought on Karma. At present, faith is definitely something I lack.

Leave a Reply

